| Where can I get my Alabama Boat Operator's Certificate?
- Take the safe boating exam on the Internet by visiting www.safeboatingalabama.com
Access the FREE online study guides and take the online course FREE of charge- Pay ONLY if you pass the test!
This course satisfies Alabama's Mandatory Education Laws & is Approved by the Alabama Marine Police
All persons 12 years of age and older who operate a motorized vessel on Alabama waters are required to have their Alabama Vessel License (also referred to as the Alabama Boat Operator's Certificate, which appears as a "V" class on your driver's license). The operator certification must be in possession at the time of operation.
NOTE: The legal age to operate a vessel alone is 14 years old.
Study the Alabama Safe Boating Course Manual
Covers 100% of the certification exam material
Study the boating safety course online, or print it and study offline
All the required study material is available for FREE at www.safeboatingalabama.com.
(We encourage you to study the material fully before attempting the exam.)
Take the Alabama Boating Exam - Pay only if you pass!
60 Questions (multiple choice)
80% needed to pass (48 right answers)
No time limit — Review any wrong answers
Get your Alabama Boating License
Once you pass your Boater Exam, your Course Completion Certificate will be mailed to you in 1-2 weeks.
You must bring your Certificate to your local Department of Public Safety, Driver's License Examiner's Office to have a boating license endorsement ("V" Class) placed on your driver's license. Note: other fees apply at the Department of Public Safety or Driver's License Examiner's Office.
Take the safe boating exam on the Internet by visiting www.safeboatingalabama.com